Bees on Lilacs

I have been thinking about lilacs a lot lately. My 99-year-old Grandmother, who is in the hospital and likely to pass very soon, has always been very fond of these lovely, fragrant flowers, and for nearly a week, I had been wishing I knew someone with a big lilac bush for me to photograph.

As lady luck (or God, fate, or whatever you want to call it) would have it, when I entered my friend’s backyard over the weekend, I unexpectedly found a huge lilac bush in full bloom, releasing its radiant scent and boasting its intoxicatingly beautiful blossoms. Swaying gently in the warm breeze, the lilacs called out to me and my camera. Bees mingled with the lilacs, happily gathering pollen (it’s what you see on their hind legs- all that yellow is pollen.)

So, I got to photograph and inhale the lilacs I was so desperately craving while at the same time capturing some of my favourite subjects; bees.

A great session that produced a euphoric, healing effect.

Click for full resolution.

DSC_0968

beebee1

beebee

DSC_0924 DSC_0937 DSC_0982

DSC_0707

Leave a Reply

